loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Deadly Houses, by Charlie Gallagher

The Deadly Houses book cover

TRIGGER WARNING: this book deals with domestic abuse and child murder
A truly shocking case for DS Maddie Ives as a woman is found dead and a man claims responsibility but she has her doubts about the truthfulness of his confession. Meanwhile others are psychologically tortured to coerce them into getting secret police and social worker documents: abuse victims that have been rehomed for their safety but are now back in danger…
The professional working relationships of the police are fraught due to events in the last book (there are spoilers so beware!) Maddie has gone from one secret romance to another whilst having an antagonistic relationship with her new boss.
I’ll admit that The Deadly Houses was a difficult book to enjoy due to the disturbing nature and intensity of the case. It is incredibly well written and I felt myself completely sucked into the plot and emotionally connected with the characters and the terrible circumstances they face.
The action is fast paced and relentlessly good. There is a mystery at the beginning as to why such awful things are happening and who is responsible. The drama is intense and believable, with terrible dilemmas that the characters face which make us as readers question what we would do in their place. The final chapters are truly horrific and devastating to read but utterly brilliant.
Overall, The Deadly Houses is an excellently dark and gritty police thriller.
I have previously reviewed books 4 and 5 in the series: He Knows Your Secrets and He Will Get You.

The Deadly Houses blog tour banner

 

Deadly Houses (Maddie Ives #6) by Charlie Gallagher
Discover the hottest crime thriller this summer.
THEY LOST THEIR FAMILIES, NOW THEY’RE COMING FOR YOURS
Four brutal men destroyed their own families. And they will do anything to get them back.
Detective Maddie Ives won’t let that happen.
She works with the people who will keep them safe. But then the team protecting them begin to be hunted down.
The social worker leading the case is found beaten and suffocated. A man turns himself in claiming to be the killer, but Maddie knows he’s lying.
FEAR WILL MAKE YOU DO THE UNIMAGINABLE
Three more victims are under pressure. If they fail, their families will die.
Detective Maddie Ives faces a heart-pounding race against time to connect the crimes. And she calls in Harry Blaker, still grieving the loss of his own daughter, to help.
YOU’RE NOT EVEN SAFE IN YOUR OWN HOUSE
Perfect for fans of Kimberley Chambers, Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, Patricia Gibney or Mark Billingham.
DON’T MISS THE MOST GRIPPING THRILLER YOU’LL READ THIS YEAR!
PRAISE FOR CHARLIE GALLAGHER
“An exceptional thriller with a truly evil antagonist, this is a book that is nigh on impossible to put down.” Lou
“This is a brilliant read.” Billie
Riveting crime fiction with twists and turns that make this a real page-turner.” Linda
“I haven’t come across such an evil, warped-minded villain for a long, long time.” Sarah
“I think this is the best yet — fantastic read from start to finish.” Nerys
“This is a truly sensational thriller that’s impossible to put down.”
“As the story hurtled towards its devastating denouement, I was caught totally by surprise at what happened.”
THE AUTHOR
Charlie Gallagher has been a serving UK police officer for more than ten years. During that time he has had many roles, starting as a front-line response officer, then a member of a specialist tactical team and is currently a detective investigating serious offences.
ALSO BY CHARLIE GALLAGHER
MADDIE IVES
Book 1: HE IS WATCHING YOU
Book 2: HE WILL KILL YOU
Book 3: HE WILL FIND YOU
Book 4: HE KNOWS YOUR SECRETS
Book 5: HE WILL GET YOU
Book 6: THE DEADLY HOUSES
GEORGE ELMS, LANGTHORNE SERIES
Book 1: BODILY HARM
Book 2: PANIC BUTTON
Book 3: BLOOD MONEY
Book 4: END GAME
Book 5: MISSING
Book 6: THEN SHE RAN
Book 7: HER LAST BREATH
STANDALONE
RUTHLESS
LINKS
Website:   https://www.writercharliegallagher.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/writercharliegallagher
Twitter:     @gloriouscharlie


July 2020: month in review

Goodbye to July, the end of the school term (such as it was!) and the beginning of the summer holidays.

Family: more lockdown easing has allowed us inside my parents’ home and the children have also slept over. Matthew is fully into trainsets again (inspired by my dad) and we have spent time together making buildings and painting people for his layout.
Anya and Zach are obsessed with the Wii plus Anya and I had a pamper afternoon at home. Finally we were able to all get hair cuts this week!

Work: the last weeks of term were a little frantic with finalising re-opening plans for September
Days out: we spent the morning at Grays Farm near Wokingham. Plenty of sunshine and fresh air, and our first experience of PYO.

Reviews: At the start of July I had no idea what wax melts were! But thanks to Teddy Eva Scents, I am now a convert! And you can get 10% off a subscription box with code LOOPY10.
Harry Potter Magical Capsules are a cute new collectable, perfect for fans like me!

Food: apple turnovers, a memory from my childhood recreated to be vegan and gluten free.
Solving the Sunday roast dilemma with roasted tofu that can be easily adapted by changing the spice mix.

 

Books: mega busy eyeballs this month!

 


Buried Lies by Chris Collett

My review:
This is book number 6 in the Tom Mariner series but the first one that I have read. It works well as a stand alone novel but I now want to read the first 5!
There are 2 strands to this book and twe are left wondering until right at the end the degree to which they are linked. We start with Glenn who has been released from prison and has murder on his mind. Within a few hours, 5 people are dead and he has laid a false trail to avoid capture and is hiding in Wales.
Meanwhile, police detective Tom Mariner has also escaped to Wales following the violent death of the woman he loves. Yet soon bodies are being discovered and Tom is involved in the investigation, both to clear his own name and to protect himself from the killer.
I love that the book kept me guessing until the end, even though we know that Glenn is a killer from the start. I felt that the explanation at the end could have been elaborated slightly more and all the loose ends tied up but that it my only criticism.
The character of Tom is one that the reader can identify with. Although he is a police officer, he is personally involved in the case and trying to use his professional skills to save himself but cannot help digging deeper into the Welsh community and putting himself in danger.
Tom is having a tough time dealing with the break down of his relationship and then the death of Anna so this instantly makes him someone to feel an emotional connection with.
I did enjoy the glossary at the end: many UK phrases and words that I take for granted but that international readers may struggle with. I hadn’t noticed the words’ usage in the book because they seemed natural but it is thoughtful of the author and publisher to include an explanation.
I will definitely be on the lookout for the earlier books and sequels as I enjoyed the narrative structure, language, plot and characters.
Book blurb:
Do you love gripping mysteries with great characters?
Discover Detective Tom Mariner in this critically acclaimed series.
‘Collett is a wonderful writer, subtle, clever, strong on atmosphere and character.’ Yorkshire Post
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner goes to the beautiful Welsh countryside to recover. But he finds himself caught up in a murder investigation . . . with him as the prime suspect.
Grieving the death of his former lover, all Mariner wants is some peace and quiet. But his walking holiday is ruined by the discovery of a body in the woods.
The remote stone farmhouses of this beautiful valley hide many buried secrets.
As more bodies are discovered, can Mariner clear his name and avoid becoming the next victim?
Discover an absorbing crime mystery with an action-packed conclusion.
Perfect for fans of Peter James, Ian Rankin and Peter Robinson. This is the sixth book in the DI MARINER SERIES, more books coming soon!
THE SETTING
Birmingham is a city of stark contrasts with a rich cultural and historical heritage. Playing a key role in the industrial revolution, it helped shape the nation’s manufacturing industry
But with its many green spaces, Birmingham also borders on the beautiful countryside of Worcestershire and Warwickshire, is just a few miles from Stratford on Avon and a short drive from the wild country of mid-Wales.
Birmingham’s population is large and ethnically diverse, and while urban regeneration has forged a modern and culturally vibrant city, the decaying remnants of the industrial past and 1960s concrete jungle give it a unique and gritty character; the dark underbelly policed by DI Tom Mariner and his team.
THE DETECTIVE
Detective Inspector Tom Mariner is, on the surface, an average dedicated policeman, but his experiences as a younger man have given him an insight into life on the dark side, and a clear sense of right and wrong. Mariner has little interest in material things. He lives in a modest canal-side cottage, enjoys the occasional (real) beer and game of dominoes and drives an old car. He is most at home in the outdoors, with an OS map and a compass, and in times of crisis, will take off and walk for miles in any weather.
THIS IS A REVISED EDITION OF A BOOK FIRST PUBLISHED AS “BLOOD AND STONE.”
DI MARINER SERIES
Book 1: Deadly Lies
Book 2: Innocent Lies
Book 3: Killer Lies
Book 4: Baby Lies
Book 5: Married Lies
Book 6: Buried Lies
Book 7 coming soon

Author Bio:
Chris Collett grew up in a Norfolk seaside town where she worked in a boarding house (now defunct) a local bakery (closed down) and a crisp factory (razed to the ground). Graduating in Liverpool, Chris has since taught children and adults with varying degrees of learning disability, including autism. She is now a university lecturer, with two grown up children, and lives in Birmingham; DI Tom Mariner’s ‘patch’. She has published short stories, teaches creative and crime writing and is a manuscript assessor for the Crime Writers Association.
The first five DI Tom Mariner books will be released in revised editions by Joffe Books in 2017/2018.
Links
Website: www.chriscollettcrime.co.uk
Twitter: @crime_crow
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/chris.collett.5477

[amazon_link asins=’B07H334T8S,B0776ZNRDG,B075XT8Y4D,B07D2FDSG8,B0792JTWVW,B01MQ4Q5RN,B07B8RJN61′ template=’ProductCarousel’ store=’tiredmummyblog-21′ marketplace=’UK’ link_id=’c7765e88-b598-11e8-8003-f7801834e76c’]