loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Girl in the Storm by Ceri A Lowe

Please comment and share!

This book is the sequel to The Rising Storm however it is possible to read as a stand alone novel, but believe me, you won’t be able to avoid waiting impatiently for the third and final book!
The Girl in the Storm starts at the exact point that the previous book finishes. The narrative structure continues to be split between Carter in the present day and Alice in the past.
Although described as a Young Adult book, the issues involved make this more than suitable and enjoyable for older audiences.
The book is much more sinister than the previous one as dark revelations about the Community are revealed to both of the main protagonists and both of their lives are in danger.

Family is at the forefront of much of the book. Relationships are reimagined in light of the requirement for the human race to survive but love and emotion continue to pay a major factor.
I really can’t wait for the final book! I honestly have no idea how the two characters will resolve the issues they have with the Community or if they will both survive. I wonder what other changes during the interim years will be revealed and how this will impact on their lives.
Publication Day: August 20th 2018
Buy Link: mybook.to/TGITSCover
Description:
A gripping and heart-pounding story filled with mystery, suspense and danger, about one girl who braves her life to discover the truth. Fans of Bella Forrest, Divergent and The Hunger Games will be enthralled by this explosive and addictive dystopian novel.
The silhouettes of the watchers stood stark against the glinting metal fence. No one could get in. And no one could get out.
As the storms rage around her, 15-year-old Alice Davenport is trained by the rulers of the new world, Paradigm Industries, to reach the highest levels of command. Life within the Community is supposed to be perfect, with the Barricades keeping the population safe from the toxic wasteland and savage people outside.
Rebellious Alice has never felt easy with Paradigm Industries’ plans for the future. Determined to investigate their secrets, she makes a shocking discovery: disturbing experiments on how to create life itself are taking place in underground laboratories, establishing a new order for society that will impact generations to come…
The First Generation Scouts will rule.
The Second Gen will obey.
And the Lab Made will serve.
Knowing she can’t live in this brutal regime, Alice has nowhere to turn. Until she encounters a boy from beyond the Barricades, who seems to have the answers for a better life. If what he says about the outside world is true, Alice realises it’s up to her to take on the power of Paradigm Industries alone…
In her journey to find freedom, Alice’s courage will be tested to the limit, but she’ll stop at nothing to do what’s right.

Author Bio:
When Ceri isn’t writing, she’s a self-employed project management consultant specialising in financial services. She lives with her partner in Bristol, England and has various obsessions including all things Spanish, travelling and, of course, writing.
Social Media Links:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/cerialowe/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/cerilowepetrask
Website: http://www.cerialowe.com/

 

*I received a complimentary e-copy of this book, all opinions are my own.

Please comment and share!

2 comments

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.