loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

5 things to consider when planning a holiday

It’s that time of year again when we are thinking ahead to the summer and planning our holiday! There are some things that need to be considered to find the perfect choice:
Location
The first thing I have in mind when looking for a holiday is a vague idea of location. I usually narrow this down to 2 or 3 places and this year I was considering Norfolk, Suffolk or Sussex. We like to choose places that are quite central so that we have more options for days out including wet weather opportunities.
Guests and sleeping arrangements
Several of the properties we looked at had 2 bedrooms and then a bed in the living room and this doens’t suit us. The boys will share a room as they do at home but Anya often gets lonely so I end up sleeping in her room. We used to enjoy staying in hotels but it is now more awkward as we would need 2 rooms.
Property requirements
For us, a garden is essential as our kids love to play outdoors. This year we are taking the dogs with us so an outdoor space is even more important. Two toilets/bathrooms is desirable for us and offers us a treat as we only have 1 at home! The kids love a shower and ours has been broken for ages. Food plans will also determine the type of meal preparation area needed. We intend to have a main meal in the evening so need the capacity to cook. Alternatively a hotel would usually provide a food option but those with a limited diet might struggle.
Local facilities
Are there shops or a pub within walking distance. If you have dogs then is there a good place to walk them nearby? Holiday parks may have additional facilities such as a games room or swimming pool and we have enjoyed these in the past but thought the noise and traffic might disturb the dogs.
Travel and check in/out
The last thing I think about is the travel arrangements and check in times. How long will it take to reach the property and where can we go on the way. What time is check out and where can you go on the way home? Will you have enough time to pack etc? What is the parking like?
Have you planned your holiday yet and where are you going?


Matt Millz, audiobook written and read by Harry Hill

Matt Mills dreams of being a stand up comedian but it is a tough business and he is only 12!
Matt Millz is a children’s book aimed at ages 9-12 but adults will love it too!
I wish I could bottle how happy this book made me. The stupid smile I had throughout, the laugh out loud lines, Harry Hill’s humour shines from the plot whilst his audio narration is superb.
Matt is a young man with big plans. He even has a stage name, changing his surname from Mills to Millz. His comedy routine has been honed to perfection but can he find the right audience? His school mates, an old people’s home, the big stage? I was desperate for Matt to succeed and fulfil his dreams but the odds seem stacked against him.
The scenarios are all very funny but they are underpinned by a strong emotional thread. The drive to entertain and be successful is so strong and I really cared for Matt. I think children will like the aspirational nature of the book and think of following their own dreams. The kid characters are easy to like and relate to, whilst the humours lifts the tone associated with the risks and failures they face.
There are lots of mentions of popular culture which younger children may struggle to understand but fans of X Factor and other reality shows should appreciate the references. Harry Hill’s quirky humour sparkles throughout and I just can’t understate how much I loved this book!

 

Matt Millz book cover

Book blurb:
Meet Matt Millz – Britain’s Youngest (and funniest!) Comedian! Matt may be small but he is truly mighty on the comedy circuit. Well, he is in his head anyway. When the school holds a talent show, Matt has the opportunity to demonstrate that he’s got the magical chutzpah quip to take him all the way to the Apollo. With the help of his diminutive manager, Kitty Hope, and his hapless form teacher, as well as the school brute, his heartthrob and Rob his best friend, Matt learns what it takes to be really funny . . . A hilarious new book from National TreasureT and real-life (very) funny man Harry Hill.


The Library Murders, by Merryn Allingham

The Library Murders book cover
Flora and Jack are organising a book event in the village. But a first edition Dickens is stolen and the librarian is found dead. The main suspect is someone Flora used to know but his arrival in the village seems odd and he was discovered standing over the body…
The Library Murders is the 8th book to feature bookshop owner Flora and crime writer Jack in the 1950s.
Despite a wedding on the horizon, it still isn’t smooth sailing for our pair of sleuths. A face from Flora’s past stirs ups some jealousy. She is also given more information about her family history which is a plotline that follows from earlier books.
Flora faces a dilemma because she can’t believe that Lowell is a killer but his sudden appearance is definitely odd. There are other suspects and motives that revolve around money and the temptation of the valuable book. Of course, the title gives a clue! There is another murder which makes Flora and Jack rethink the evidence.
Being set in the 1950s, there is a range of historical social comments that add to the development of the characters and plot. I still feel frustrated with the delays to the relationship between Flora and Jack but they are also impatient to wed!
The Library Murders is an enjoyable cosy historical murder mystery.
The Library Murders blog tour banner
Book Description:
Bookshop owner and amateur detective Flora Steele and her fiancé, crime writer Jack Carrington, discover words can kill as they solve their most puzzling case yet…
It’s a sunny morning in Abbeymead as Flora cycles through the village and knocks on the door of the local library, planning to deliver a gift to librarian Maud Frobisher to mark her retirement. But Flora is shocked when she finds Maud slumped in the corner, and even more startled when she recognises the man holding the murder weapon – an enormous hardback book.
Flora’s known Lowell Gracey since her college days, but what is he doing working for Maud and now the main suspect in her murder? Suspicion mounts when Flora and Jack discover that Lowell is heavily in debt, and that a priceless rare first edition has recently gone missing, but Lowell is adamant that he’s innocent, and Flora believes him.
The pair are once more drawn into an investigation, but who would kill a beloved librarian?Perhaps Rose Lawson, a mysterious newcomer to Abbeymead known to be in dire financial straits? Or pompous bestselling author Felix Wingrave, who rumours say would do anything to get his hands on a valuable book for his collection?
Then the village is rocked by the discovery of a second body. Flora and Jack realise a vital clue lies in the pages of a novel – but the plot is thickening and the killer is closing in…
Flora and Jack are determined to solve this fiendish case by the book – but will this be the end of their story?
A completely page-turning and addictive cozy crime mystery. Fans of Agatha Christie, Faith Martin and Joy Ellis will adore this unputdownable series!

Author Bio:
Merryn taught university literature for many years, and it took a while to pluck up the courage to begin writing herself. Bringing the past to life is a passion and her historical fiction includes Regency romances, wartime sagas and timeslip novels, all of which have a mystery at their heart. As the books have grown darker, it was only a matter of time before she plunged into crime with a cosy crime series set in rural Sussex against the fascinating backdrop of the 1950s.
Merryn lives in a beautiful old town in Sussex with her husband. When she’s not writing, she tries to keep fit with adult ballet classes and plenty of walking.
https://merrynallingham.com/
https://www.facebook.com/MerrynWrites
https://twitter.com/merrynwrites
Sign up to be the first to hear about new releases from Merryn Allingham here:  https://www.bookouture.com/merryn-allingham
Buy Link:
Amazon: https://geni.us/B0CLRWF1ZXsocial
You can sign up for all the best Bookouture deals you’ll love at: http://ow.ly/Fkiz30lnzdo

Death at Lovers’ Leap, by Catherine Coles

Death at Lovers' Leap book cover

1948, Martha Miller is feeling blue on Valentine’s Day with a missing husband and an unrequited love for the vicar. But things get worse when she finds a young man’s dead body…
Death at Lovers’ Leap is the third book to feature amateur sleuths Martha and Luke in an English village shortly after WW2. I have previously read and reviewed the first two books in the series: Poison at the Village Show and Daggers at the Country Fair.
A love triangle seems to have caused the latest shock death in the village. Steven died at a place renowned for a tragic past and may have jumped to his death after his girl showed attention to another. Or was he killed by his love rival? Martha and Luke realise something else may be afoot in the village when another person dies. The murder mystery is maintained until the final chapter. I liked the historical details which add to the plot and depth of the characters.
The sleuthing couple have the added complication of the arrival of Luke’s father and later his sister too. I feel so sorry for Martha and Luke as they are perfect together and their hopes of a relationship seem as far away as ever despite their obvious feelings. I really want them to find happiness but I don’t see how it will happen due to his vocation and her marital history 🙁
Death at Lovers’ Leap is an enjoyable cosy murder mystery.

 

Death at Lovers' Leap blog tour banner

Death at Lovers’ Leap
Westleham Village 1948
As Valentine’s Day rolls around, Martha Miller finds herself unusually melancholy at the state of her own love life. With husband Stan still missing and with her growing feelings for Vicar Luke still shrouded in secrecy, there’s only one place Martha can go – famous local beauty spot, Lovers’ Leap.
Legend has it that those with a broken heart throw themselves off the bridge that spans the river, but Martha is certainly not about to do such a thing! But it looks like someone else has had other ideas…. Because there in the river, Martha finds a body. But is this misadventure, a moment of lovesick madness, or is foul play afoot? Martha knows one thing…the villagers of Westleham have another crime to solve! Let the investigation commence! Find out if Martha and Luke can catch the killer in a brand new Martha Miller mystery from bestselling author Catherine Coles.
Purchase Link – https://mybook.to/loversleapsocial

Death at Lovers' Leap banner

Author Bio –
Catherine Coles writes bestselling cosy mysteries set in the English countryside. Her extremely popular Tommy & Evelyn Christie series is based in North Yorkshire in the 1920’s and Catherine herself lives in Hull with her family and two spoiled dogs.
Social Media Links
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/catherine.coles.9847
Twitter https://twitter.com/catherinecoles
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/catherinecolesauthor/
Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/CatherineColesNews
Bookbub profile: Catherine Coles Books – BookBub

 


#Project52 2024 week 8

Half term! It has been mostly wet but we managed one family day out in the sun.
I have loved spotting all the signs of spring flowering/blossoming everywhere local even in the rain (fingers crossed the weather stays mild)
I have started a craze! All 5 of us now play Monopoly Go!
I hope you all had a lovely half term and good luck back to school on Monday!