loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Tenant, by Angela Lester

The Tenant book cover

Kate uproots herself and heads to university as a mature student to study music and finally follow her dream. She is a bit strapped for cash but finds a reasonably priced room in Amy’s house. But gradually Kate’s life gets out of control and she starts to suspect a malevolent influence…
The Tenant is a psychological thriller set in Cardiff.
The main character is Kate. She has some huge emotional obstacles to overcome including  unrequited love and the death of her sister. Finally she is putting herself first and aims to become a teacher. But her studies suffer as she starts acting strangely and has black out periods which threaten her fresh start.
The book is written from Kate’s first person persctive so we naturally ally ourselves with her and feel the same confusion and disorientation she experiences. Kate’s landlady Amy made me deeply uncomfortable and I distrusted her from the beginning. There are no boundaries and the relationship is unequal from the start.
The tension develops steadily and Kate doesn’t know if she can trust herself let alone anyone else. She becomes isolated due to her repeated episodes of ill mental and physical health. I really wanted to yell at her to escape her situation but understand how she was trapped. I found the ending and explanation to be a little extreme so just suspended my disbelief and enjoyed the drama.
The Tenant is an entertaining thriller with a well maintained tense atmosphere.

The Tenant blog tour banner

Book Blurb
 
Amy is the perfect landlady. But she does have some ground rules…
Kate has always dreamed of a life in music. And now she’s finally done something about it – giving up her steady job, moving to the city to enroll in a degree program at a prestigious college.
Needing a place to live, she answers an ad and moves in with Amy who seems a nice lady – mothering and protective.
At first Kate is glad to have some support in this strange city, but gradually Amy’s presence becomes more and more stifling – it just seems so hard to get away from her. And every time Kate tries, something terrible happens…
As her life spirals downwards, Kate struggles to understand what’s happening. Is Amy plotting against her? Or is she simply buckling under the stress of adjusting to her new life?
Fearing for her sanity, Kate knows she needs to get some answers and begins to look into the history of the creepy old house she shares with Amy. What she finds is beyond her worst nightmares…
The Tenant, the terrifying psychological thriller perfect for fans of K L Slater, Jane Renshaw, Teresa Driscoll
 
Buy Links
Amazon UK –  https://www.amazon.co.uk/Tenant-gripping-psychological-thriller-ending-ebook/dp/B09Z6W745R
Amazon US –  https://www.amazon.com/Tenant-gripping-psychological-thriller-ending-ebook/dp/B09Z6W745R

Author Bio
Angela Lester loves writing psychological suspense that explores the dark side of human nature.
A philosophy graduate, she came over from Germany in 1991 and has lived in Cardiff ever since.  She plays the piano, sings in a choir and loves walking in the great Welsh countryside. Angela has worked as bookseller and translator, but her real passion is writing. She has written short stories and novels in German and English. The Tenant is her first published thriller.
The Tenant is her first psychological thriller with Inkubator Books.
Follow her at: Twitter:  https://twitter.com/AMLester99

 


#DreamTeam blog linky 13

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter



Good Neighbours, by Mary Grand

Good Neighbours book cover
Nia travels to the Isle of Wight to housesit for her aunt. She moves into a close knit community but notices that the perfect neighbourhood is based on secrets…
Good Neighbours is a psychological thriller set on the Isle of Wight.
The book starts with the creation of a voodoo doll which sets the sinister tone for the plot. Nia’s aunt has had to go abroad suddenly and asked her to housesit. We are introduced to Nia and I felt immediately unsettled by her descriptions of how she behaves and dresses to appease her husband. I had the uncomfortable feeling that she was hiding something about her relationship and I was right!
The neighbours all seem very friendly, perhaps TOO friendly, and Nia starts to suspect that there are secrets. Then someone is found dead and the dark undercurrents become more prominent. The supernatural element of the voodoo doll and the religious cult that features add an extra dimension to the plot and the uneasy atmosphere.
I really liked Nia’s character and enjoyed seeing her emerge from her husband’s shadow as the book progressed. She grows in confidence and this allows her to investigate the death of her friend even though she could be putting herself in danger.
Good Neighbours is an entertaining and atmospheric psychological thriller.

Good Neighbours blog tour banner

Good Neighbours
It was meant to be a safe place to start again…
In need of an escape from her failing marriage, Nia agrees to house-sit her aunt’s cottage on the Isle of Wight. She feels sure the cosy close in a quaint harbour town will be a safe place to hide and figure out what to do next.
But things are not all as they seem in the close, and the neighbours who welcome her with open arms, are keeping secrets. When Nia finds the body of one of her new friends lying on the beach, she feels sickeningly sure that the killer is dangerously near to home.
Who killed her friend and why did she have to die? And if Nia discovers the answers she’s looking for, is she next on their hit list? Good neighbours may become good friends, but they can also make deadly enemies…
Purchase Link – https://amzn.to/3pyRFpO
Good Neighbours banner
Author Bio –
Mary Grand is the author of five novels and writes gripping, page-turning suspense,
with a dark and often murderous underside. She grew up in Wales, was for many years
a teacher of deaf children and now lives on the Isle of Wight where her novel,
The House Party, which was published by Boldwood in July 2020, is set.
Social Media Links –
Facebook https://www.facebook.com/authormarygrand
Twitter https://twitter.com/authormaryg
Instagram https://www.instagram.com/marygrandwriter/
Newsletter Sign Up: https://bit.ly/MaryGrandNews

Mystery at Lovelace Manor, by Clare Chase

Mystery at Lovelace Manor book cover
An annual festival at Lovelace Manor ends in tragedy with the death of a celebrity historian in a bizarre hot air balloon incident. Amateur sleuth and professional obituary writer Eve Mallow is on hand to investigate the tangled relationships that could provide the motive and identify the killer…
Mystery at Lovelace Manor is the eighth book in the Eve Mallow series.
The book starts with the balloon incident and then goes back in time a couple of days to show events leading up to the death. Relationships between the victim and a host of suspects are strained so Eve has plenty of people to investigate.
The familiar characters from the rest of the series return including Gus the dachshund. Eve and Robin are still keeping their romance a secret which adds another dimension to their characters and the plot.
The book is written in the third person, mainly showing Eve’s perspective. There is little violence or graphic detail about the victim’s injuries. The plot develops at a moderate pace as Eve explores the alibis and motives of the suspects. I liked the way that the author maintained the mystery and kept me guessing.
Mystery at Lovelace Manor is an enjoyable cosy murder mystery novel.
I have previously reviewed all previous books in the series: Mystery on Hidden LaneMystery at Apple Tree CottageMystery at Seagrave Hall, Mystery at the Old Mill, Mystery at the Abbey Hotel, Mystery at the Church, and Mystery at Magpie Lodge.

 

Mystery at Lovelace Manor blog tour banner
MEDIA PACK
Book: Mystery at Lovelace Manor 
Author: Clare Chase
Pub Day: May 17th 2022
Buy Link: 
https://geni.us/B09PJPYTJMsocial
About the Book: 
Lovelace Manor has a famous past… but when a historian becomes history at its annual open day, amateur sleuth Eve Mallow is on the case!
Everyone in Saxford St Peter flocks to Lovelace Sunday, the festival celebrating the romantic history of beautiful Lovelace Manor. This year will be even more exciting, as famous TV historian Cammie Harington is planning a spectacular stunt with a hot-air balloon for her new show.
Eve Mallow jumps at the chance to volunteer – it’s a great people-watching opportunity. But she soon realises there is no love lost between Cammie and the family who owns the manor… so why did Cammie agree to come?
When Cammie’s hot-air balloon tumbles from the sky, Eve feels sure this is no accident. Alongside dachshund Gus, she sets to work investigating the mystery, piecing together all the odd things she’s seen and heard.
Could the killer be discreet Diana, lady of the manor, who fell out with Cammie years ago? Or Diana’s dashing brother Sebastian, whose dark secret Cammie knew? Why was the loyal gardener following Cammie around? And had Cammie uncovered something explosive about the manor’s past, as she claimed?
When someone breaks into Cammie’s cottage and a priceless Lovelace heirloom goes missing, Eve is sure she’s on the right track… but can she solve the case, before the killer brings her crashing down?
A completely gripping English cozy mystery, perfect for fans of Frances Evesham, J.R. Ellis and Betty Rowlands.
Author Bio
Clare Chase writes classic mysteries. Her aim is to take readers away from it all via some armchair sleuthing in atmospheric locations.
Her debut novel was shortlisted for Novelicious’s Undiscovered Award, as well as an EPIC award post-publication, and was chosen as a Debut of the Month by LoveReading. Murder on the Marshes (Tara Thorpe 1) was shortlisted for an International Thriller Writers award.
Like her heroines, Clare is fascinated by people and what makes them tick. Before becoming a full-time writer, she worked in settings as diverse as Littlehey Prison and the University of Cambridge, in her home city. She’s lived everywhere from the house of a lord to a slug-infested flat and finds the mid-terrace she currently occupies a good happy medium.
As well as writing, Clare loves family time, art and architecture, cooking, and of course, reading other people’s books.
You can find Clare’s website and blog at www.clarechase.com
Social Media
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/ClareChaseAuthor
Twitter: https://twitter.com/ClareChase_
Website: www.clarechase.com
Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/clarechaseauthor/
Bookouture email signup: https://www.bookouture.com/clare-chase

#Project365 2022 week 20

Day 134: just me and the road ahead for my run

Day 135: Anya and Zach had a lovely time reviewing these Steffi Love dolls

Day 136: it was a strange week weatherwise but these flowers on my walk to work really seem cheerful

Day 137: it took a lot of nagging to get Anya to do her homework but finally complete!

Day 138: a vegan hot chocolate before heading off to work

Day 139: I am a little bit hooked on my new restaurant on Cooking Fever

Day 140: more rain and even a bit chilly


You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter