loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

#DreamTeam blog linky 18

 

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter



The Box, by Dan Malakin

TRIGGER WARNING: psychological torture scenes
Ed’s house, family and reputation are threatened by a right wing incel group. His daughter Ally goes missing and he is convinced the group are responsible. Then he is framed for a murder and accused of sexual harrassment so goes on the run with his daughter’s friend Phoenix as they try to stay safe and locate Ally.
The Box is a crime thriller that is very sinister and deals with up to date issues.
Ed’s life is spiralling out of control after his daughter throws a milkshake at a prominent men’s rights campaigner. The group publish Ally’s details so Ed gets an injunction against them. The bitter feud takes a dark turn when Ally goes missing and the only link Ed can find is to Phoenix, a homeless girl hiding from the group.
The book is mostly written from Ed’s first person perspective. I loved the way he reacts to situations, being more brave than he realises and standing up for what is right. There are some shocking chapters from inside the box which provides a treatment involving drugs and electric shocks. The atmosphere is dark and dangerous which makes us anxious for Ed and Ally’s safety.
The other chapters show the police investigation as Jackie investigates Ed’s involvement in a murder. Jackie’s family were killed in a car bomb and her team doubt her capabilities so she is determined to track Ed down and prove them wrong. The hunt is on and her methods are not always acceptable. But gradually she starts to realise that he might have been framed.
There are some fascinating plot twists and I feel proud of myself for guessing most of them but this did not spoil my enjoyment. The tension and pace is well maintained over the course of the book and I liked the mix of Ed’s perspective with those chasing him. There is some violence but it is not extreme although the psychological torture in the box may be upsetting.
The Box is a gripping thriller with a fab lead character.
I have previously reviewed The Regret by Dan Malakin.

The Box book cover

Genre: Crime thriller
Pages: 330
Publisher: Viper Books
Publication Date: 16th June 2021
Standalone: Yes
Blurb:
To save your child you must open The Box…
Ed Truman’s family is falling apart. His daughter Ally is being targeted by an alt-right incel organisation, Men Together. His house is being picketed, former clients are accusing him of sexual assault, his son won’t speak to him. And then Ally disappears.
Frantic, Ed suspects that Men Together have abducted her. But before he can go to the police, his DNA is found on the body of a young woman. Suddenly he’s the subject of a nationwide manhunt, led by the tenacious DCI Jackie Rose. Ed finds himself on the run with Ally’s friend, Phoenix, who claims to know where Ally is. But what is the truth? Is Ed a violent sexual predator? Or is he the victim of a ruthless conspiracy? The answers are in The Box. But not everyone who goes in, comes out alive…
From the bestselling author of The Regret, this heart-pounding thriller is perfect for readers of Harlan Coben, Mark Billingham and M.W. Craven.


Rome For The Summer, by Lynne Shelby

Rome For The Summer book cover Kate and her family have always loved the painting of a woman in their dining room. But her parents can’t resist it when offered £20,000. Sadly, this is only a fraction of its worth and Kate finds herself without a boyfriend or job. Inspired by the painting she travels to Rome to walk in the footsteps of the woman from the painting.
Rome For The Summer is a mix of romance and history, art and travel. The majority of the story is told from Kate’s perspective but we also have sections set 200 years ago so we can see Charlotte’s experiences. The art world and setting of Italy have been richly researched and provide a vivid backdrop for the plot developments.
Kate is quite rightly devastated by her ex’s deception and needs some space to heal her heart and consider the future. She is attracted to the artist in residence in Rome but is reluctant to give romance a chance, leading to a gentle and slowly developing relationship.
The tone and style of the novel are warm and light hearted but full of emotion. Kate and Charlotte have both been betrayed by the men they love. Yet they face the future and make the most of their situations. I found myself liking both women and wanting a happy outcome for them.
Rome For The Summer is a delightful story about fresh starts.
Rome For The Summer blog tour banner
Rome For The Summer
Kate Harper has always loved the painting that has hung in her parents’ dining room for years, never suspecting that it is worth a fortune. When her art dealer boyfriend cheats her family out of the proceeds of the painting’s sale, she is left devastated and alone.
Kate discovers that two hundred years ago, the girl in the painting, Charlotte Browne, ran off to Rome with the artist who painted her portrait, but her eventual fate is unknown.
Hoping to uncover the mystery of what happened to Charlotte, Kate seizes the chance of a summer job in Rome, where she strikes up a friendship with artist Jamie Taylor. As they explore the city and start to piece together the surprising secrets of Charlotte’s life, Kate finds herself wondering if a summer in Rome can mend a broken heart…

Rome For The Summer banner

Purchase Links
UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/Rome-Summer-feel-good-escapist-following-ebook/dp/B09HSJ1YCL/
US – https://www.amazon.com/Rome-Summer-feel-good-escapist-following-ebook/dp/B09HSJ1YCL/
Author Bio –
Lynne Shelby writes contemporary women’s fiction and romance. Her debut novel, French Kissing (re-released in e-book as Meet Me In Paris) won the Accent Press and Woman magazine Writing Competition. Her fifth novel, Love On Location, was shortlisted for a Romantic Novelists’ Association Award – the Jane Wenham-Jones Award for Romantic Comedy. When not writing or reading, Lynne can usually be found at the theatre or exploring a foreign city with her writer’s notebook, camera and sketchbook in hand. She lives in London with her husband and has three adult children who live nearby.
Social Media Links –
Facebook: www.facebook.com/LynneShelbyWriter
Twitter: https://twitter.com/LynneShelby5
Instagram: lynneshelbywriter
Website: www.lynneshelby.com

 


#Project365 2022 week 25

Day 169: I’m sure Chris was thrilled that he’s as clever as me and as funny as Zach!

Day 170: I completed my virtual challenge! Can’t wait to receive my medal

Day 171: Matthew’s dinosaur obsession continues, helped by the new dinos from Jurassic World Dominion

Day 172: Anya has been on a shopping spree and then wanted to do some modelling

Day 173: Matthew went away on a residential trip to Tile Barn, camping for two nights.

Day 174: not sure when Duolingo is thinking we might need this phrase!

Day 175: I remember sitting in the driver’s seat when I was little so let Zach have a quick play

You are invited to the Inlinkz link party!

Click here to enter



The Lieutenant’s Girl, by Shari J. Ryan

The Lieutenant's Girl book cover
Everett Anderson in a Hollywood movie star but joins the air force in WW2. In Hawaii he meets trainee nurse Elizabeth who also happens to be the daughter of a prominent milaitary man. They keep their romance a secret and are considering the future when the attack on Pearl Harbor changes their lives forever…
The Lieutenant’s Girl is a dual timeline historical novel set in 1941 and the present day. Elizabeth now suffers from short term memory problems. However, her memories of the war are as sharp as ever. She begins to recount her past and we step into her memory of love and loss.
Lizzie is our narrator and this wonderfully brings her experiences and emotions to life. She has been supporting her family on the domestic front since the death of her mother but is now ready to follow her own dreams. Her father has told her to stay away from the men at the base so she keeps her fledgling relationship with Everett a secret.
The unexpected attack on Pearl Harbor is graphically described and the horror of war is evident. However the bravery of the characters shines from the pages and I was torn between fear and pride as the plot developed.
I loved the depiction of Elizabeth in the present day. It felt really refreshing to have an older person portrayed so vividly. She is vulnerable as she experiences the deterioration of age but the strength of her passion and resolve are undiminished.
The Lieutenant’s Girl brings the 1940s to life with a beautiful historical romance.
I have previously reviewed other Shari J. Ryan books including The Girl With The Diary.

 

The Lieutenant's Girl blog tour banner

MEDIA PACK
Book: The Lieutenant’s Girl
Author: Shari J. Ryan 
Pub Day: June 22 2022 
Buy Link: 
https://geni.us/B09X1Y7SHPsocial
Audible: 
UK: http://ow.ly/Ns3750JvT76
US: http://ow.ly/oMnY50JvT78
LISTEN HERE: http://ow.ly/MULM50JvT7a
About the Book: 
Pearl Harbor, 1941. War planes hurtle across the horizon, skimming the clouds. Gunpowder fills the air as the earth shatters. Everett’s hands cup my cheeks. “If I lose you, Elizabeth, please know that the time I’ve spent with you has been worth every second I’ve been alive.”
On the fateful day that sirens rend the air and warplanes fly over the harbor, Elizabeth and Everett had sneaked away to whisper sweet nothings to each other. As bombs rain down, they cling to each other, the ground shaking and smoke suffocating them. Miraculously, they survive—but their world is ripped apart. The beautiful island, where the turquoise ocean once lapped the golden sand, is destroyed.
Over a sweltering summer, the couple had fallen madly in love. Elizabeth was in awe of Everett’s sacrifices for the Air Force, and Everett adored strong-willed Elizabeth, a Jewish girl who defied her father’s wishes for a sheltered life by training to be a nurse.
But tragedy changes everything. Although they are hopelessly devoted to one another, they vow to serve their country. Elizabeth joins the Army Nurse Corps in Europe and Everett flies across the world chasing down the enemy. With a tearful goodbye, they promise to write.
When Everett’s letters stop arriving, heartbroken Elizabeth fears the worst. Will she ever see the love of her life again? And what chance does she have of surviving Europe, where Hitler’s tyrannical rule places her in grave danger?
Fans of The Girls of Pearl Harbor, The Alice Network and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will be utterly addicted to this unputdownable tear-jerker about the heartbreaking reality of war and the power of love to overcome all.

Author Bio 
Shari J. Ryan is a USA Today Bestselling Author of Women’s Fiction, WWII Fiction, and 20th Century Historical Fiction with a focus on the Holocaust and Pearl Harbor.
Shortly after graduation from Johnson & Wales with a bachelor’s degree in marketing, Shari began her career as a graphic artist and freelance writer. She then found her passion for writing books in 2012 after her second son was born. Shari has been slaying words ever since.
With two Rone Awards and over 125k books sold, Shari has hit the USA Today Bestseller List, the Amazon’s Top 100, Barnes & Noble’s Top Ten, and iBooks at number one. Some of Shari’s bestselling books include Last Words, The Other Blue Sky, Unspoken Words and A Heart of Time.
Shari, a lifelong Boston girl, is happily married to her personal hero and US Marine and have two wonderful little boys. For more details about her books, visit: www.sharijryan.com
Social Media