My very own website!!! Yikes!

After That Night, by Karin Slaughter

TRIGGER WARNING: rape, domestic abuse
Dr Sara Linton was raped 15 years ago. Now she has a case of a young woman’s rape that makes her confront the past to find connections. But her rapist was convicted and couldn’t be responsible for raping the latest victim…
After That Night is the 11th book in the Will Trent series. Relationships continue from earlier books but are easy to catch up on. Faith has been traumatised by her last case which I assume was the subject of the previous book in the series. There are references to incidents but no major spoilers.
Sara is a dedicated doctor but her career direction was adversely affected by being raped just before accepting a prestigious promotion. She is perfectly happy in the alternative life she has created until she treats a seriously injured young woman whose experience was just like her own. Now she is concerned that there could have been an error in the identification and conviction of her rapist.
The rape content, misogyny and domestic abuse contained within the book is deeply unpleasant and graphically described. The content is disturbing in its violence towards women. Yet I felt that Sara’s strength shines through. Her determination to find the truth offers a spark of hope to the other women degraded and undermined by the emotional and physical brutality of men.
After That Night is a tense and intense novel.
After That Night book cover
Book blurb
After that night, nothing was ever the same again
Fifteen years ago, Sara Linton’s life changed forever when a celebratory night out ended in a violent attack that tore her world apart. Since then, Sara has remade her life. A successful doctor, engaged to a man she loves, she has finally managed to leave the past behind her.
Until one evening, on call in the ER, everything changes. Sara battles to save a broken young woman who’s been brutally attacked. But as the investigation progresses, led by GBI Special Agent Will Trent, it becomes clear that Dani Cooper’s assault is uncannily linked to Sara’s.
And it seems the past isn’t going to stay buried forever.
About the author
Karin Slaughter is the author of more than twenty instant NEW YORK TIMES bestselling novels, including the Edgar–nominated COP TOWN and standalone novels THE GOOD DAUGHTER, PRETTY GIRLS, and GIRL, FORGOTTEN. She is published in 120 countries with more than 40 million copies sold across the globe. PIECES OF HER is a #1 Netflix original series starring Toni Collette. The Will Trent Series is on ABC (and streaming on Hulu in the U.S, and Disney+ internationally). THE GOOD DAUGHTER and FALSE WITNESS are in development for film/tv. Slaughter is the founder of the Save the Libraries project—a nonprofit organization established to support libraries and library programming. A native of Georgia, she lives in Atlanta.
Facebook www.facebook.com/AuthorKarinSlaughter/
Instagram www.instagram.com/karinslaughterauthor/
Twitter @SlaughterKarin

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.