My very own website!!! Yikes!

Danger on the Island, by Stewart Giles

Danger on the Island book cover

A woman dies while tombstoning on the southern point of the island. Her broken body is found beside a woman impaled on some rocks with a single bullet hole in her forehead.
Danger on the Island is the 11th book to feature DI Liam O’Reilly on Guernsey. There are no spoilers about the crimes in previous books but Liam’s personal and professional relationships have developed over the series. In this book he is struggling physically as he recovers from a serious injury which occured at the end of the last book, Sadness on the Island.
I have no idea why anyone would want to go tombstoning! The opening scene when Donna leaps off the cliff is so vivid and terrifying especially as she is killed. Tombstoning is also illegal so her friends are reluctant to help the police which adds to Liam’s frustration.
As usual, the plot develops at a rapid pace and there are more bodies in quick succession. Liam and his team spot a link between the posing of the bodies but have no idea on the motive or identity of the killers or victims. The investigation is further confused by mention of a cold case disappearance of a teenager.
I am always fully invested in Stewart’s books. The dialogue brings the characters to life, there is always plenty of action, and Liam is just a wonderful lead character.
Danger on the Island is another brilliant addition to this fab series.

Danger on the Island blog tour banner
Danger on the Island (DI Liam O’Reilly mysteries Book 11)
The Island of Guernsey isn’t exactly a favourite destination for adrenaline junkies.
But it does have one thing that attracts a new breed of adventure freaks.
Cliff jumping is taking off on the island, and June appears to be the best time of year for those that way inclined to choose to partake in the sport.
When a young woman is killed after a jump, her death is judged a tragic accident. But when her body is retrieved the remains of another corpse is found on the rocks below, so the Island Police are brought in.
It’s the last thing Detective Liam O’Reilly feels like. Still feeling the effects of a case that almost broke him, he really doesn’t need this.
But when he drags himself back to where he once was, and starts to understand what he’s dealing with he wakes up enough to realise he’s dealing with something much more dangerous than the cliffs that people are jumping off.
There is someone on the Island who likes to take things to the extreme, and O’Reilly is damned if they’re going to do it on his island.


Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.