My very own website!!! Yikes!

Evil on the Island, by Stewart Giles

Evil on the Island book cover
A sixteen year old announces in class that his mother has killed his father and police arrive at the family home to find Arnold Green dead and his wife missing…
Evil on the Island is the 12th book in the DI Liam O’Reilly series set on Guernsey. There are no spoilers about previous cases but Liam’s personal life and professional relationships have developed over the series.
Liam thinks his latest case is quite straight forward and the victim’s family are responsible for his murder. But this explanation is called into question when another murder is discovered and there surely must be a link…? I thought there were plenty of characters acting suspiciously and trusted no-one!
In his personal life, Liam is still recovering from his motorbike injury, his fiancee Victoria is coping with her cancer diagnosis, his cats are causing havoc with his neighbour and his daughter is making big decisions about her future. There is a lot going on as well as the murders!
The pace is relentlessly fast with twists, murders, and clues piling on top of each other. The chapters are short which are quick to read. Once again in this series, the plot is dialogue led which increases the pace even further. I was kept guessing until the end but I did feel that the conclusion was a little rushed even by this author’s standards!
Evil on the Island is an entertaining police procedural and crime thriller.
Evil on the Island blog tour banner
Evil on the Island (DI Liam O’Reilly mysteries Book 12) 
‘I know about evil, because my mum is evil. She killed my dad. My mother murdered my father, and left him where she knew I would find him.’
A class discussion in a prestigious school on the peaceful island of Guernsey takes a sinister turn when the body of the father of one of the students is found, exactly where the boy said he would be.
The 16 year old has no further information to offer the Island Police, and his mother has disappeared off the face of the earth.
Detective Inspector Liam O’Reilly has no idea where to look. The boy’s father was stabbed multiple times, but there is nothing at the scene to suggest why this man was killed in such a horrific manner.
Then another man is found dead.
But when a third suffers the same fate soon afterwards, O’Reilly knows that he’s up against something darker than his mind could ever comprehend.
There’s something evil on the island, and O’Reilly has no idea how to stop it.
What readers are saying about EVIL ON THE ISLAND:
An ingenious plot and one where I couldn’t work out as to whom the perpetrator was until it was revealed. A thoroughly entertaining gripping read. Hurry up with the next one! – Misfits Farm
Love the characters, a big plus for me. Liam has an up and down relationship with his cats but it might be on an even keel at present and his daughter’s partner DC Andy Stone has flashes where Liam can tolerate him. So quite a bit of humour throughout. A most enjoyable read. – Maureen
Another brilliant read that I was unable to put down.  Intrigue and suspense all the way through, absolutely brilliant. – Amazon Reviewer
Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.