My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Cellar, by Stewart Giles

The Cellar book cover Three men are discovered dead in a cellar after dying of dehydration. Three more men have gone missing and DS Jason Smith is back from sick leave to crack the case. But can he find the killer before anyone else dies…?
The Cellar is the 26th book in the Smith crime thriller series. There are mentions of events and outcomes from previous books and this series is just soooooo good that I would advise reading them all!
Jason Smith is waiting to be allowed back to work from sick leave. His colleagues can’t wait for his official return and he jumps at the chance to get back into action slightly early. The case is quite grisly as three men died of thirst after being locked in a cellar whilst another man resorted to cannibalism before succumbing to death as well.
We then witness others being tricked into another cellar and this really ramps up the tension as we know the intended outcome and anticipate the desperation. Once again the style of writing is dialogue led and this makes the pace super fast. Chapters are short and the plot drives on with twists and turns.
As usual, I was swept up into Smith’s world as he struggles to catch a killer and prevent more deaths. I felt the fear and dread of the victims as they realise the danger they face. The book is set at the start of Covid so I liked the context which added authenticity. The conclusion and outcome of the book are directly associated with a previous book so again I will say ‘read the whole series!’
The Cellar is a tense, dramatic and gripping police procedural and crime thriller.
The Cellar blog tour banner
The Cellar (A DS Jason Smith Thriller Book 26)
From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Jason Smith series.
Something nasty is happening in York.
When the bodies of three men are discovered in the cellar of a house it soon becomes clear that their deaths were not peaceful.
Detective Jason Smith is itching to get back to work after a case that almost killed him and he soon realises he’s dealing with something he’s never come across before.
With a global pandemic looming, nobody in the city is paying much attention to the homeless people who are mysteriously vanishing from the streets.
But Smith senses there is something more to this.
Something else is happening here, and he’s not wrong.
A horror, far worse than he imagined is happening in a dark place somewhere in his city and Smith is going to have to face his deepest fears to stop it.
Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.