loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

My Husband’s Daughter, by Emma Robinson

My Husband's Daughter book cover
Jack and Rebecca have decided not to have children. They enjoy their careers and private life too much to contemplate the upheaval a child would cause. But one night Jack’s ex Cara arrives on their doorstep with four year old Sophie in tow, claiming she is Jack’s daughter…
My Husband’s Daughter very cleverly makes us think about the what ifs and wonder how we would react in the same circumstances. I have always wanted to be a mum but understand the pressure society puts on women to have children, all that ideology about maternal instinct and ticking body clocks!
The plot is delivered through chapters taken from Rebecca and Cara’s perspectives in turn. This allows us to care about them and understand their motives. Both women are compassionate and caring which immediately endears them to us. Rebecca has more of a challenge as she struggles to adjust to her new role as stepmother while it is obvious that Cara is hiding secrets.
Jack is a much more difficult character to assess as we only see him through the eyes of the two women. I felt frustrated by his reluctance to step up and wanted both Rebecca and Cara to give him a harder time for shirking his responsibilities.
My Husband’s Daughter was a highly emotional book to read and there were definitely tears in my eyes for the final chapters. It was beautfully written and had me spellbound from start to finish.

My Husband's Daughter blog tour banner

Book Description:
Cara took a deep breath and let it out slowly. ‘She’s not just my daughter,’ she said as she turned in her seat to face Jack. This man she had once loved, but who she hadn’t seen for nearly five years. ‘Sophie is your daughter too.’
It is just past ten o’clock on a cold Friday evening when Rebecca and her husband Jack’s doorbell rings. Outside is a woman who introduces herself as Jack’s ex-girlfriend Cara. And she’s holding the hand of a shivering, blue-eyed, four-year-old girl. Who she claims is Jack’s daughter.
Rebecca is shocked to discover he has a child from his last relationship – even one he hadn’t known about. Because becoming parents isn’t part of their life plan. They like children, but they also love their freedom and spending time together uninterrupted; the way that, if they wanted to, they could travel the world at a moment’s notice.
But Cara needs them. Because Cara has a devastating secret that she can’t tell anyone yet. Not even her daughter. A secret with the power to change all of their lives.
A secret that will ultimately mean Rebecca has to ask herself – could she find it in herself to welcome her husband’s child into her home, and into her heart?
A heartbreaking and powerful emotional women’s fiction novel about love, friendship and what it truly means to be a parent, perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Jodi Picoult and Kate Hewitt.
author Emma Robinson
Author Bio:
Emma Robinson thinks of herself as one of the ‘Bridget Jones generation’ – who are now grown up and having children – and writes novels for women who feel the same.
She also has a blog, Motherhood for Slackers, which takes a humorous look at parenthood, and includes poems such as ‘Dear Teacher’ about her son starting school which has been shared around the world. Emma is an English teacher and lives in Essex with a patient husband and two children who are an endless source of material.
https://twitter.com/emmarobinsonuk
https://motherhoodforslackers.com/
https://www.facebook.com/motherhoodforslackers/
Buy Links:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/2SxDT5C
Apple: https://apple.co/2AxcM5o
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2BGix1e
Google: https://bit.ly/3iAx2UQ

2 comments

  1. Carol

    On my… I knew from the reviews that I would need a box of tissues on hand and cry I did – big heart breaking sobs, tears running down my face and honest to goodness snot bubbles!
    I was drawn in from the start from each chapter before the reveal, sure I had it all worked out – beautifully written, great twist. Read it in one day, emotional drained yet able to laugh at my family’s looks of “really” when I explained the reason for my tear stained cheeks and red nose!

  2. Pingback: His First Wife's Secret, by Emma Robinson - loopyloulaura

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.