loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Lost Girls Of Foxfield Hall, by Jessica Thorne

The Lost Girls Of Foxfield Hall book cover

 

1939. Lady Eleanor Fairfax faces the outbreak of war and her fiance’s departure to join the RAF. 2019. Megan Taylor is hired by Foxfield Hall to restore the grounds. She is anxiously awaiting news of her brother who is a soldier missing in action. Both women are fascinated by the mysteries of the local area and the well on the estate. And one night they meet in the maze…
The Lost Girls Of Foxfield Hall is an intriguing tale of love, loss and magic. I’ll be honest and say that I hadn’t read the blurb so was not expecting the magical element to the plot. I enjoyed the way that author Jessica Thorne blends different genres together to make an enjoyable novel.
The strength of women is a recurring theme throughout the book. There are witches, sisterhood and also the power of female friendship. There is also a lesbian romantic element that forms part of the plot and breaks down stereotypes.
Both timelines are equally well imagined. I had no idea that Ellie and Megan’s lives would collide so enjoyed their discoveries of each other. The paradox of time and changing the past with the ensuing effect on the present/future is explored and resolved for these characters at the end of the book.
My favourite part of the book was the history and legend focus within the plot. The story of King Arthur combined with witchcraft and pagan rituals. I liked how the tale of the three sisters had been passed down through the generations and across the planes of time.
The Lost Girls Of Foxfield Hall is an intriguing book combining historical fiction with legends as well as the present day.

 

The Lost Girls Of Foxfield Hall blog tour banner

 

Jessica Thorne Media Kit:
Title:  The Lost Girls at Foxfield Hall
Publication Day: March 26th 2021
Author:   Jessica Thorne
Buy  Link:
Amazon: https://geni.us/B08WPZDM5GCover
Apple: http://ow.ly/Hg8l50DDmJl
Kobo: http://ow.ly/fiuJ50DDmI2
Google: http://ow.ly/iqP350DDmPK
Description:
September, 1939. The moon shines silver on the looming yew trees. Thinking of her fiancé, fighting for his life and country in the war, breaks Eleanor’s heart, but also gives her courage. She takes a deep breath, picks up her camera, and follows the dancing lights into the maze.
Present day. With her little brother Missing in Action, gardener Megan Taylor runs from her grief to take a job at Foxfield Hall – a centuries-old place full of myths and folklore – restoring the wild maze in the overgrown gardens. Throwing herself into shaping the tangled ivy, Megan soon becomes drawn into the mystery of Lady Eleanor Fairfax, the Hall’s most famous resident… the villagers say she disappeared without trace at the Harvest Festival in 1939, leaving behind a grieving father and a heartbroken fiancé.
Leafing through delicate old newspaper cuttings and gazing at an ornately framed portrait of the missing woman, Megan is full of questions. Although no body was ever found, could Eleanor have been murdered? Did she run away, unwilling to marry the man who loved her? Or, with her father working at the War Office, did Eleanor stumble upon a secret she shouldn’t have?
Then, one night under a full moon, a mesmerising light inexplicably draws her to the entrance of the maze. Megan is filled with a strange certainty that, if she follows it into the shadows, it will lead to the truth about Eleanor… but could Megan herself be the next occupant of Foxfield Hall to be lost forever?
A spellbinding, magical and addictive tale about the mysterious and ancient legends at the heart of the English countryside, and how to find those who are lost. Perfect for fans of Outlander, Susanna Kearsley and The Binding.

author Jessica Thorne

 

Author Bio:
Jessica Thorne watched far too much sci-fi and read far too much fantasy at an impressionable age. And it was awesome. She writes fantasy and sci-fi romance with a steampunk edge and just refuses to face reality.
Author Social Media Links:
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/JessThorneBooks/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/JessThorneBooks
Website: http://www.rflong.com/jessicathorne/

 


1 comment

  1. Pingback: The Bookbinder's Daughter, by Jessica Thorne - loopyloulaura

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.