loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

Her Daughter’s Cry, by M.M. Chouinard

A woman with no memory stumbles into a shop begging for help. Her clothes are soaked in blood but it isn’t hers. Test results show it belongs to her daughter but the police and the woman have no idea how old the girl or woman is. A search of the area where they think the woman got lost reveals the body of a man, not a female as expected…
The first part of the book shows the perspective of Detective Jo Fournier and her team. In the second part of the book, amnesiac Zoe has gone on the run, not trusting the police to find her the answers she is desperate for or in their ability to keep her safe. We also see the viewpoint of the man hunting Zoe down and this ramps up the tension.
I felt frustrated with Zoe for not trusting Jo and her team as I had confidence in their abilities based on the previous books! Take a look at my reviews of The Dancing Girls and Taken to the Grave) I always think it is a good thing when a book makes you have a positive or negative reaction to a character 😀
Jo is facing her own emotional and physical battle (which I won’t spoil but did guess) plus we get to see more of her family dynamic which follows on from previous subplots in M.M. Chouinard’s other books. The amnesiac element added an extra dimension to the plot and I liked Zoe’s resourcefulness in trying to uncover her own identity and stay safe.
Although the third in the series, I think this would work perfectly well as a stand alone novel. Overall, a very enjoyable crime thiller.

Title:  Her Daughter’s Cry

Publication Day: 23/01/2020
Author:   M.M. Chouinard  
Buy  Links:      
Amazon: https://geni.us/B081RQX56RSocial
Apple Books: https://apple.co/338xC3h
Kobo: http://bit.ly/2KHLATk
Googleplay: http://bit.ly/2s7LSfW
 
Description:
Someone wants her dead, and she can’t remember why.
Zoe is a wife and a mother. Or so she’s been told. Ask her for more than that and she couldn’t tell you. The blow to her head wiped her memory clean.
Zoe knows the blood on her shirt isn’t just her own. After she was found stumbling out of the woods, the police ran tests. They say it belongs to her missing daughter.
Zoe is trying to piece together what her daughter’s face looks like, but all she can conjure up is a white-hot panic. A fear that her child is in desperate need of her help.
When a man claiming to be her husband turns up looking for her, she knows she can’t trust him. Until she gets her memories back, she can’t trust anyone. Not the stranger, not the police investigating, not even herself
A completely addictive thriller that will keep you guessing into the early hours of the morning. Perfect for fans of The Silent Patient, Lisa Regan and Gregg Olsen.
Readers are loving Her Daughter’s Cry:
Just WOW!! The twists I just didn’t see coming… The story was crazy SO CRAZY!!! That if you think you can guess what is going to happen you will be sadly mistaken!! The characters in this one were great… I loved every second of it.” Crossroad Reviews ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
Wow. This book gripped me from the very first page until the very last page. I just couldn’t put it down and when I had to put it down I couldn’t wait to pick it up again! I would most definitely recommend this book to lovers of thrillers!” Goodreads Reviewer
“GREAT story… a must-read… A “”stay up and finish book””. MM Chouinard has created another fantastic thriller!… A fabulous read! Looking forward to the next.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
I am now off to read the previous book, which means my ironing will have to wait!” NetGalley Reviewer
This book is a must-read… Very gripping.” Goodreads Reviewer ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐
The writing is fantastic… easy to follow and hard to put down.” Ludwig’s Thrillers
Author Bio:
M.M. Chouinard’s first fiction story was published in her local paper when she was eight, and she fell in love with Agatha Christie novels not long after. While pursuing a Ph.D in psychology and helping to found the first U.S. research university of the new millennium, the stories kept rattling around inside her skull, demanding to come out. For sanity’s sake, she released them. She’s currently at work on her seventh novel.
Author Social Media Links:
Website: www.mmchouinard.com
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/mmchouinardauthor/
Twitter: https://twitter.com/m_m_chouinard

 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.