loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Sister in Law, by Sue Watson

The Sister In Law book cover
Clare’s annual family holiday with her parents in law is thrown into disarray when her brother in law Jamie arrives with a new bride Ella. Clare is eager to be friendly towards the new woman in the family, but her efforts are rejected and Ella begins a campaign of undermining Clare at all times.
Clare’s marriage is fragile due to her husband’s multiple affairs and she too is hiding a secret. Meanwhile, she is having to negotiate family politics with her parents in law and now Jamie and his new wife as they seek to assert themselves within the family dynamic.
The Sister in Law is a clever psychological drama about the power of words and how damaging they can be. It isn’t particularly pleasant to read much of the book as the snide remarks and disparaging comments are relentless. It is, however, fascinating to watch as the drama unfolds and Clare’s reality begins to unravel completely.
The concept of family politics is very thought provoking. The mother of my first long term boyfriend really hated me and put me down whilst my current mother in law is wonderful and has welcomed me into her family despite me being a single mum. I fear for the women my sons will bring home…
I think most readers will be able to identify with Clare and her insecurities which are played upon to destroy her self esteem. As a mother, it is sometimes difficult to be a woman rather than a mum, and also to work while fulfilling the role of childcare. Women are often expected to be emotional negotiators within the family to ensure peace and love permeate the home, whlst their own emotional needs are ignored.
There are two twists at the end and I did consider both of them earlier but this did not spoil my enjoyment as it was still a surprise to see how events played out. The suspense and drama are maintained until the very end of the book.
Take a look at my review of The Empty Nest also by Sue Watson

 

The Sister in Law book tour banner

 

The Sister in Law Book Description:
‘You don’t think Jamie and I have secrets, do you? No, we tell each other everything.’ She smiled. ‘Including your dirty little secret. So maybe it’s time to start being nice to me?’
THE WIFE: Clare is ready for a break. It’s been a tough year and now she wants to put her feet up. Arriving at the Italian villa for their summer holiday, she decides it’s high time her husband and his family did some of the work. After all, her husband owes her…
THE HUSBAND: Even though Dan had his head turned by someone else, he’s realised the error of his ways. He’s here now, and he says it’s for keeps. Clare can trust him, can’t she? At least he’ll have his brother there, to keep him in line…
THE BROTHER: Jamie is the prodigal child, back in the family fold again after years of travelling abroad. But when he gets to the villa, he’s not alone. He’s brought a wife, someone none of them have met before.
THE SISTER-IN-LAW: Ella is everything Clare isn’t. Glamorous. Young. Influential. But she knows a secret about Clare. Something that has the power to break the whole family apart.
And there’s someone who will do whatever it takes to make sure that this deep secret never comes to the surface.
An utterly unputdownable, gripping, twisty psychological thriller, perfect for fans of Before I Go To SleepThe Girl on the Train and Date Night.
author Sue Watson
Author Bio:
Sue Watson was a TV Producer at the BBC until she wrote her first book and was hooked.
Now a USA Today bestselling author, Sue has written fifteen novels – many involving cake – which have been translated into several languages and involved tough ‘cake research.’ Sue is now exploring the darker side of life with her thrillers OUR LITTLE LIES, THE WOMAN NEXT DOOR, THE EMPTY NEST and THE SISTER-IN-LAW. Writing in this new genre doesn’t involve the deep research of baked goods and Sue’s hoping the change in direction will be reflected on the weighing scales.
Originally from Manchester, Sue now lives with her husband and teenage daughter in Worcestershire where much of her day is spent writing – okay, procrastinating, eating and watching ‘My 600lb Life,’ on the sofa.
more info visit Sue’s website; http://www.suewatsonbooks.com/
Sue would love to meet you on FaceBook at https://www.facebook.com/suewatsonbooks
Follow Sue on Twitter @suewatsonwriter
Buy Links:
Amazon: https://bit.ly/2S282dq
Apple Books: https://apple.co/354bWrv
Kobo: https://bit.ly/2KwUAKw
Google Play: https://bit.ly/2xJYVaF

 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.