loopyloulaura

My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Suspects, by Jodie Lawrance

The Suspects book cover

Jimmy Osbourne has been on the run since eluding justice after the killing of a cop. The cop’s partner Loughton has never forgiven him so when Jimmy arrives back in Edinburgh, police rally to watch him. Soon he is suspected of a jewellery heist and a teenager is shot is an apparently iunrelated incident. DS Helen Carter teams up with Loughton to investigate Jimmy and search for any link to these two crimes…
The Suspects is the third book to feature DS Helen Carter as she attempts to gain the respect of her male colleagues. I have previously reviewed the first two books in the series: The Uniform and The Evidence.
Events from the last book are mentioned but not followed up very much. Helen’s ex does not feature but there is subplot relating to Craven’s ex. The Edinburgh dialogue seems to be missing in this book compared to the previous two.
Once again Helen is dealing with outdated 1970s views on women police officers, proving her worth time and time again! The 1970s are also brought to life with brand names from the era and the lack of technology is both refreshing and shows the reliance on methodical policing.
I liked the personal nature of the case and the book begins with Loughton’s experience of losing his partner. This gives us an emotional link to the case and the police which makes us want Jimmy to face justice.
The Suspects is an entertaining police drama book and I look forward to reading more of this series.

The Suspects blog tour banner

The Suspect by Jodie Lawrance
SHE’S OUT OF UNIFORM BUT SHE’S STILL IN THE LINE OF FIRE.
Discover a thrilling new Scottish crime series starring Detective Helen Carter.
Detective Helen Carter needs a break. Instead, she’s going head-to-head with notorious cop killer Jimmy Osbourne.

 

Eight years ago, he pulled off the perfect heist and fled to Spain, leaving behind a trail of carnage. But not a shred of evidence to implicate him.
Now he’s back in Edinburgh. But why? Helen has her suspicions.
Within days, a mystery jewel thief surfaces on CCTV. A shooter hits a seedy back-alley.
The suspects are piling up, but Helen knows Jimmy is behind them. All her instincts tell her he’s guilty. She’s watching him. But he has eyes on her too . . .
Can she take him down before he gets to her?
Fans of Ashes to Ashes, Caro Ramsay, Helen H. Durrant, J.D. Kirk, Angela Marsons, Rachel McLean, Val McDermid and Alex Gray will love this retro Scottish crime series set in the 1970s.
WHAT READERS ARE SAYING ABOUT JODIE LAWRANCE:
“[Jodie Lawrance] is a writer to take note of right now. In terms of style and content it will appeal to fans of Ian Rankin, Val McDermid and Christopher Brookmyre, but there is something else going on. With the action starting at a rapid pace from the off, and not letting up till the last page, you could read it as a straightforward crime novel and you will not be disappointed.” Scots Wae Hae magazine, on The Uniform
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Such a great debut story. I loved it and can’t wait till the next one . . . Recommended for anyone who wants a new detective story to get into.” Michelle
⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐ “A promising start from an exciting new author. It’s a police procedural based in Scotland, set in the 1970s. Featuring newly promoted Detective Helen Carter, it’s well researched into attitudes towards women at that time. An addictive read, cleverly plotted. I am looking forward to reading the next in the series.” Carol
⭐⭐⭐⭐ “Wow! I devoured this book in literally one sitting. This was a fast-paced thriller. With amazing characters. I’m so excited to have another book to look forward to reading! I’m hoping it’s released sooner than later! Can’t wait!” Rubie
⭐⭐⭐⭐ “This is a good start to a new series and I am already looking forward to the next book in the series.” Barbara
⭐⭐⭐⭐ “I thoroughly enjoyed The Uniform, which is a good start to a new series.” Elaine

 

MEET THE DETECTIVE
Detective Sergeant Helen Carter is used to getting a rough time of it at work. As one of the few women officers around, she has heard it all before: she’s only there as a box-ticking exercise, or she only got the job because of her father, who was a detective inspector. But she can handle it. She knows she can hold her own against any man on the force. The only thing she can’t handle, however, are the constant fights with her fiancé, Ted.
THE SETTING
Edinburgh CID in the 1970s is on the third-floor of the ugly, modern concrete lump that is the police station. On a sunny day, you can look right out to Arthur’s Seat. And on any day, you can see spotty-faced, bored teenagers coming and going from the local high school across the road. With its historic cobbled streets and fair share of deprivation, Edinburgh police are up against every type of criminal imaginable.
DETECTIVE HELEN CARTER SERIES
Book 1: THE UNIFORM
Book 2: THE EVIDENCE
Book 3: THE SUSPECTS

author Jodie Lawrance

JODIE LAWRANCE
Jodie graduated from Manchester Metropolitan University in 2018 with an MA in Creative Writing. When not writing, she is also an actress and has appeared in a variety of television, stage and film.
She’s also a contributor for BBC The Social.
BOOKS BY JODIE LAWRANCE
COMING SOON!
FOLLOW JODIE ON
AUTHOR WEBSITE
FACEBOOK
TWITTER
INSTAGRAM

 


Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.