My very own website!!! Yikes!

Revenge On The Island, by Stewart Giles

DI Liam O’Reilly gets a brick thrown his window with a note attached from a killer he sent to prison fifteen years earlier. Now Patrick Finney, remorseless and relentless, is on the run and looking for revenge…
Revenge On The Island is the fifth book to feature Liam and his police team on the island of Guernsey. There are a few mentions of events in the last book but I don’t think there are any spoilers.
Once again the pace is at breakneck speed as Liam’s life is turned upside down. He goes through a whole host of emotions, with fear and anger being the most prominent. The murders that Finney committed culminated in a victim with a personal link to Liam and now Finney wants to destroy Liam’s career.
I was completely hooked. The majority of the book is dialogue based as the characters interact. Reationships within the team are well established as well as rivalry with other agencies which come to the fore with devastating consequences for Liam as he attempts to prove his innocence. There are lovely little details that bring the characters to life, for example Liam’s reaction to his obstinate cat.
It is always a sign of a good book when you feel for the characters. I found myself wanting to shout at Liam for some of his choices which you know will come back to haunt him. He has a staunchly loyal team but feels isolated as his rival besmirches his reputation and the killer is set to ruin him.
Revenge On The Island is a quick read but thoroughly entertaining and gripping.
Revenge on the Island book cover
Revenge on the Island book blurb:
A compelling mystery with a dark twist (DI Liam O’Reilly mysteries Book 5)
How do you solve a murder when you’re the number one suspect?
Fifteen years ago Patrick Finney was sentenced to life for the brutal murders of four women. It was one of the most high-profile cases in Irish history and one that defined Detective Inspector Liam O’Reilly’s career. O’Reilly was instrumental in bringing Finney down.
Now Finney has escaped from a high-security prison and he’s not content to stay on the run.
He wants revenge and he’s prepared to stop at nothing to get it.
Abandoned by the very people he’s employed by O’Reilly finds himself in a predicament that leaves him running out of options. There is only one man who can help him. But it’s a man he vowed he would never contact again, and the consequences of his association with this phantom could be far worse than O’Reilly could ever imagine.
When the hunter becomes the hunted the rules of the game have to change.
This is a chilling mystery that O’Reilly will never forget.
Revenge on the Island blog tour banner
0.5 – Phobia
1 – Smith
2 – Boomerang
3 – Ladybird
4 – Occam’s Razor
5 – Harlequin
6 – Selene
7 – Horsemen
8 – Unworthy
9 – Venom
10 – Severed
11 – Demons
12 – Deadeye
13 – Motive
14 – Australia
Book 16 – Wishbone
1 – Blood on the Island
2 – Lies on the Island
 3 – Fear on the Island
 4 – Malice on the Island
 5 – Revenge on the Island
1-The Beekeeper
2-The Perfect Murder
3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3
1 – The Enigma
2 – Dropzone
3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set
THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)
The Divide
author Stewart Giles
Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow with book 16 recently published. The first 5 books in the Detective Liam O’Reilly series are now available.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.