My very own website!!! Yikes!

Ghosts, by Stewart Giles

Ghosts book cover

A series of execution style killings of police officers in York. DS Jason Smith is anxious to find the killer quickly but the only witnesses describe the culprit as a ghostly figure. And Smith has seen it too…
Ghosts is the 17th book to feature DS Smith and his colleagues. There are mentions of events for previous book but no spoilers.
OMG!!! The book is fast paced, dramatic and absolutely gripping. It is a quick read but doesn’t feel rushed. I was swept up in the action and devoured the pages in a couple of hours.
Smith is coping with events from his past as well as a migraine. But nothing matters more to him than finding the cop killer to save his friends and colleagues. The sinister ghostly figure is a recurring motif through the book as it attacks police officers in their homes and on the streets.
The tension and anticipation is high over the course of the book. These crimes have a shock factor for us as well as the characters in the book. The murders are not gory as they are execution style so they are horrifying in their simplicity and speed.
The humour of Smith’s relationship with superior officer Smyth lightens the tone of the book as well as adding an extra dimension to the characters. Plus there is Smith and Whitton’s relationship providing a loving but banter filled personal life (loved the car related chats they have in this book) which feels natural and realistic.
Ghosts is another excellent addition to the Jason Smith series.


Ghosts blog tour banner

Ghosts : A Detective Jason Smith thriller
Police officers are being killed in York. The murders are cold, calculated and methodical. This killer leaves nothing behind besides a sense of dread.
When someone Detective Jason Smith has worked with ends up dead it becomes personal, but this phantom leaves nothing to even hint at why this is happening.
The only breakthrough in the case comes from several witnesses who claim to have seen a ghost-like figure around the time of the murders.
Facing ghosts of his own, and on the brink of breakdown Smith is pushed even further over the edge when he discovers the sick reality behind these murders.
This isn’t about murder – this is about something else altogether.
These ghosts will haunt Jason Smith for the rest of his life.

Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow with book 17 now available. In addition I have an new series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey. The first 5 books in the Detective Liam O’Reilly series are now available. There are also 2 stand alone novels with another on the way.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33
Book 0.5-Phobia
4-Occam’s Razor
9 – Venom
10 – Severed
11 – Demons
12 – Deadeye
13 – Motive
14 – Australia
15 – Wishbone
Book 1 – Blood on the Island
2 – Lies on the Island
3 – Fear on the Island
4 – Malice on the Island
5 – Revenge on the Island
6 – Christmas on the Island
Book 1-The Beekeeper
2-The Perfect Murder
3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3
Book 1 – The Enigma
2 – Dropzone
3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set
THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)
The Divide



Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.