My very own website!!! Yikes!

Silence on the Island, by Stewart Giles

Silence on the Island book cover

Liam O’Reilly is not enjoying the quiet of Guernsey in January. But the peace is shattered by the murder of an elderly woman from a care home. Her body is found on a grave in the military cemetery. Other victims are then attacked and Liam has no idea on motive…
Silence on the Island is the 7th book to feature Detective Inspector Liam O’Reilly and his team on Guernsey. It would work as a stand alone book although the character relationships have developed over the preceding books.
The latest murder mystery is centred around a care home. Elderly residents are abducted and killed with no apparent motive. Liam doesn’t trust the owners or the staff so there are plenty of potential suspects to investigate.
The dynamics between the police characters is enjoyable to read. Liam really has an issue with one particular officer who also happens to be dating Liam’s daughter. There wasn’t too much forensic detail or violence compared to other books in the series but the pace remained relentlessly fast.
The plot developments kept me hooked and I had no idea who was responsible. I really love this series but I felt a little dissatisfied with the ending as the motive is not fully explained. This is probably quite realistic as I’m sure many cases are not completely understood.
Silence on the Island is an entertaining and fast paced detective novel.

Silence on the Island blog tour banner

Silence on the Island: A Detective Liam O’Reilly Mystery (DI Liam O’Reilly mysteries Book 7)
From bestselling author, Stewart Giles, comes a new addition to the brilliant Detective Liam O’Reilly series.
January on the island of Guernsey is grim. It’s dark and depressing. Detective Liam O’Reilly expected as much.
What O’Reilly didn’t bargain for was the eerie silence on the island in the dead of winter.
And when an old lady disappears from a care home and reappears, dead on the grave of a soldier who died 80 years ago, O’Reilly has absolutely no idea what to think.
When more old people are found, murdered amongst the tombs of these dead soldiers, and O’Reilly is met with silence everywhere he turns, he really has no idea why these people had to die.
Then he finally hears the truth.
But it is a truth that will haunt him for the rest of his life.
What readers are saying about SILENCE ON THE ISLAND
Stewart Giles gives the reader so much to think, laugh and peruse about, as well as a top rate murder investigation to solve with a first class ending. Highly recommended. – Carol
A cleverly crafted plot line to keep the grey matter active right through, just how I like it. A wonderful read, highly recommended. – Misfits Farm
It is a perplexing case for Liam and his team and I just wanted to keep reading to find out who was the crook. The characters are a mix of personalities and they really add to the story. There is humour throughout too which is great. – Maureen
Riveting chapters will keep you engrossed figuring out the mystery. Following the maze-like twists and turns will keep you guessing until the surprising conclusion you’ll never see coming. – Lena


The Ghostwriter
The Guests
0.5 – Phobia
1 – Smith
2 – Boomerang
3 – Ladybird
4 – Occam’s Razor
5 – Harlequin
6 – Selene
7 – Horsemen
8 – Unworthy
9 – Venom
10 – Severed
11 – Demons
12 – Deadeye
13 – Motive
14 – Australia
16 – Wishbone
17 – Ghosts
18 – Scarecrow


1 – Blood on the Island
2 – Lies on the Island
3 – Fear on the Island
4 – Malice on the Island
5 – Revenge on the Island
6 – Christmas on the Island
7 – Silence on the Island
1-The Beekeeper
2-The Perfect Murder
3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3


1 – The Enigma
2 – Dropzone
3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set
THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)


The Divide
Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow with book 17 now available. In addition, I have a new series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey. The first 7 books in the Detective Liam O’Reilly series are now available. There are also 3 stand alone novels.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33


  1. Pingback: The Scarecrow, by Stewart Giles - loopyloulaura

  2. Pingback: Secrets on the Island, by Stewart Giles - loopyloulaura

  3. Pingback: The Librarian, by Stewart Giles - loopyloulaura

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.