My very own website!!! Yikes!

The Librarian, by Stewart Giles

The Librarian book cover

A murder seems awfully familiar to detective Jason Smith. And then another, and another. Someone is using past crimes to wage war on the Yorkshire police…
The Librarian is the 20th book in the Jason Smith series. The murders in this book are all based on those in previous books and there are some spoilers about motives and identities.
The details of the deaths are grisly but brief as the plot speeds along. There are a number of murders in quick succession and the focus of the investigation is on who could have a vendetta against the police.
Spaced throughout the book are Smith’s meetings with retired librarian Emily who is gifted with an incredible memory. I enjoyed the minutiae of detail about her tarantulas and Smith’s reaction to them. The author creates really authentic characters and their behaviour and dialogue seems realistic so they come to life.
A combination of police work and Emily’s recollections helps Smith to proceed with his investigation. It becomes clear who the killer is and then the hunt is on to find them before they kill again. There are some great twists at the end!
The Librarian is a fast paced and dramatic police thriller.

The Librarian blog tour banner

THE LIBRARIAN (Detective Jason Smith book 20)
From bestselling author: Stewart Giles comes another brilliant addition to the Detective Jason Smith series
The Librarian (Detective Jason Smith #20) by Stewart Giles
Detective Jason Smith has outwitted more murderers than he cares to admit. His insight into the criminal mind is unrivaled and he’s made a career out of outsmarting the depraved and insane killers that have plagued the city of York.
But it appears someone has been doing some research on Smith’s track record. Somebody knows more than they ought to, and when people are murdered in circumstances, far too familiar to be coincidence, Smith runs out of ideas.
The answers to his questions come from an unexpected source. An octogenarian former Librarian who claims to remember everything that has ever happened in her waking life, will prove to be an unusual ally in Smith’s quest to bring down the most disturbing killer he’s ever come across.
What readers are saying about The Librarian:
Every chapter is like navigating a terrifying, haunted circus hall of mirrors maze. Hair-raising suspense explodes leading to a dynamite chilling conclusion.. – Lena
What a twisted minded read. I was all over the place reading every chapter.
Superb once again from Stewart Giles the master of writing at his best, simply the best. 5 stars.. – Booklover Bev
This is an entertaining, engaging read. A murder, mystery in itself with multiple murders and a serial killer. I thoroughly enjoyed it, so much so that I am now going to reread the previous books in the series.. – Carol
Book 0.5 – Phobia
1 – Smith
2 – Boomerang
3 – Ladybird
4 – Occam’s Razor
5 – Harlequin
6 – Selene
7 – Horsemen
8 – Unworthy
9 – Venom
10 – Severed
11 – Demons
12 – Deadeye
13 – Motive
14 – Australia
16 – Wishbone
17 – Ghosts
18 – Scarecrow
19 – The Bluesman
1 – Blood on the Island
2 – Lies on the Island
3 – Fear on the Island
4 – Malice on the Island
5 – Revenge on the Island
6 – Christmas on the Island
7 – Silence on the Island
8 – Secrets on the Island
1-The Beekeeper
2-The Perfect Murder
3-The Backpacker
Trotterdown a box set of DC Harriet Taylor books 1-3
1 – The Enigma
2 – Dropzone
3 – The Raven Girl
Trilogy: The DS Smith & Harriet Taylor box set
THE MIRANDA TRILOGY (psychological thrillers)
Horror – The Divide
Thriller – The Ghostwriter
Thriller – The Guests
Stewart Giles – Author Bio
After reading English at 3 Universities and graduating from none of them, I set off travelling around the world with my wife, Ann, finally settling in South Africa, where we still live.
In 2014 Ann dropped a rather large speaker on my head and I came up with the idea for a detective series. DS Jason Smith was born. Smith, the first in the series was finished a few months later.
3 years and 8 DS Smith books later, Joffe Books wondered if I would be interested in working with them. As a self-published author, I agreed. However, we decided on a new series – the DC Harriet Taylor: Cornwall series.
The Beekeeper was published and soon hit the number one spot in Australia. The second in the series, The Perfect Murder did just as well.
I continued to self-publish the Smith series and Unworthy hit the shelves in 2018 with amazing results.  I therefore made the decision to self-publish The Backpacker which is book 3 in the Detective Harriet Taylor series which was published in July 2018.
After The Backpacker I had an idea for a totally new start to a series – a collaboration between the Smith and Harriet thrillers and The Enigma was born. It brought together the broody, enigmatic Jason Smith and the more level-headed Harriet Taylor.
The Miranda trilogy is something totally different. A psychological thriller trilogy. It is a real departure from anything else I’ve written before.
The Detective Jason Smith series continues to grow. I also have another series featuring an Irish detective who relocated to Guernsey, the Detective Liam O’Reilly series. There are also 3 stand alone novels.
Website: www.stewartgiles.com
Twitter: @stewartgiles
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/stewart.giles.33

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.